Domestic Robot

Home / Companion robots / Best robot pet for kids

Buying guide · Researched, not tested

Best robot pet for kids in Australia (2026), by age

Five robot pets for kids from $56 to $808, sorted by age, with what each one records, whether it needs Wi-Fi, and what it costs after the box is open. Prices checked 29 October 2026 at Amazon AU, JB Hi-Fi and Kmart.

By Domestic Robot · Editor: Christian Ganaban · Updated 29 October 2026 · We may earn a commission from links on this page. Disclosure

Researched, not testedWe haven't used these robots ourselves yet. Picks are based on manufacturer specs, Australian prices and ratings, and independent reviews, all linked below.

Quick answer

For under-6s, get Little Live Pets My Really Real Puppy ($99 at Kmart): no app, no Wi-Fi, no camera, just touch sensors and 60-plus sounds. For ages 6 and up, Furby (from $56.38) talks, sings and dances without going online. For an AI robot that teaches as it plays, the Miko 3 ($429 at JB Hi-Fi) is the pick for 5 to 10 year olds, but budget for its subscription. Loona ($807.98) is the most pet-like, roaming the floor and chatting with ChatGPT-style AI; KEYi says it's for ages 6 to 12, so skip it for toddlers whatever the listing says.

Our picks at a glance

RobotBest forAgesPrice (AUD)WhereLocal warranty
Little Live Pets My Really Real PuppyBest for under-6s4+$99Kmart; Amazon AUNot stated; Australian Consumer Law applies
Furby (current model)Best offline talker6+From $56.38Amazon AUNot stated; Australian Consumer Law applies
Miko MiniBest budget AI robotNot stated$199JB Hi-FiNot stated on the listing; ask JB Hi-Fi
Miko 3Best AI learning robot5–10$429JB Hi-FiNot stated on the listing; ask JB Hi-Fi
Loona petbotMost pet-like6–12 (KEYi)$807.98Amazon AUNot stated on the listing; ask the seller

Ages are the maker's or retailer's own guidance. Where they disagree, we say so in the pick.

1
Best for under-6s

Little Live Pets My Really Real Puppy

Best for: Preschoolers who want a puppy to cuddle and care for

$99at Kmart; $119 on Amazon AU, checked 29 Oct 2026

It's a robot pet with no screen time attached: a soft puppy that blinks, reacts when stroked and makes feeding sounds when given its bottle. It needs no app, account or Wi-Fi, so there's nothing to set up and nothing to record. Kmart sells it for $99, $20 less than Amazon AU, and it comes in many variations, which kids seem to love.

Type
Plush puppy with blinking eyes and weighted paws
Reacts to
Two touch sensors (head and back) and a feeding bottle
Sounds
60-plus sounds and reactions
Power
2 x AA, included
Wi-Fi, app, camera
None
Amazon AU rating
4.6 stars, 2.3K ratings (Patches the Beagle)

Watch out for

  • It doesn't walk; it's a lap pet, not a roaming robot.
  • Surface wash only, so it won't survive the washing machine.
  • Each puppy is sold separately and variations are random-feeling; check which one you're getting.

Where to buy

Kmart$99Amazon AU$119

Prices checked 29 October 2026.

Sources: Kmart product page · Amazon AU listing

2
Best offline talker

Furby (current model)

Best for: Kids 6 and up who want a pet that talks back, without the internet

From $56.38Galaxy and Coral editions; Tie Dye $68.76; Amazon AU, checked 29 Oct 2026

Furby talks, sings, dances and tells fortunes in response to voice commands, but it doesn't connect to the internet, so there's no account, no cloud and no AI chat to worry about. It's the cheapest pick here and one of the most-reviewed on Amazon AU.

Modes
Five voice-activated: Dance Party, Copy Cat, Tell My Fortune, Let's Chill, Lightshow
Responses
600-plus, in English and Furbish
How it listens
Press the heart gem, then say "Hey Furby"
Power
4 x AA, not included
Wi-Fi or app
None
Amazon AU rating
4.6 stars, 4.4K ratings (Coral and Galaxy listings)

Watch out for

  • It listens for voice commands, so it has a microphone; it doesn't connect online.
  • Batteries aren't included and it gets through AAs.
  • Some parents find it loud and chatty; it powers down when play ends.

Where to buy

Amazon AU (Coral)$56.47Amazon AU (Galaxy)$56.38

Prices checked 29 October 2026.

Sources: Amazon AU listing · Hasbro instructions (AU)

3
Best budget AI robot

Miko Mini

Best for: Families who want a small, voice-first learning robot

$199plus delivery from $9.99; JB Hi-Fi, checked 29 Oct 2026

The Mini is Miko's smaller, cheaper robot: a voice-first learning buddy that rolls around and plays games, with a small screen so it's less like a tablet. At $199 at JB Hi-Fi it's less than half the price of the Miko 3.

Screen
2-inch, voice-first
Camera
Yes, one-way video calls, with a camera shutter
Moves
Wheels, with range sensors
Battery
Up to 1 hour of active play (Miko)
Language
English only (Miko)
Privacy
kidSAFE Seal Program certified (Miko)

Watch out for

  • Miko doesn't state an age range for the Mini on its comparison page.
  • Only about an hour of active play per charge, per Miko.
  • Most premium content needs the Miko Max subscription.

Where to buy

JB Hi-Fi$199

Prices checked 29 October 2026.

Sources: Miko: Mini vs Miko 3 · Miko

4
Best AI learning robot

Miko 3

Best for: Kids 5 to 10 who'll use games, stories and learning content

$429online only, plus delivery from $9.99; JB Hi-Fi, checked 29 Oct 2026

Miko 3 is a rolling robot with a face on a touchscreen, games, stories, learning apps and kid-safe chat, plus parental controls for time limits and volume. A Gadgeteer review found the content good and the robot sturdy enough to survive falls, but the free tier thin and the AI chat slow; without Miko Max it can feel like an expensive tablet.

Ages
5 to 10 (Miko)
Screen
4.7-inch touchscreen
Camera
720p wide-angle; two-way video calls; camera shutter
Battery
Up to 5 hours of active play (Miko)
Languages
8 (Miko)
Subscription
Miko Max: US$99/year or US$14.99/month (US pricing)

Watch out for

  • Plan on paying for Miko Max; check the Australian price in the app.
  • Setup needs a parent account, the companion app and Wi-Fi.
  • The reviewer found the AI conversation slow and often off-target.

Where to buy

JB Hi-Fi$429

Prices checked 29 October 2026.

Sources: The Gadgeteer: Miko 3 review (27 Mar 2025) · Miko: Mini vs Miko 3

5
Most pet-like

Loona petbot

Best for: Older kids who want a robot pet that roams, plays and chats

$807.98Amazon AU, checked 29 Oct 2026

Loona is the closest thing to a robot puppy in Australian shops: it roams the floor, recognises faces and gestures, plays games and chats. The companion app adds simple block coding, which suits curious kids. It's also the priciest pick and needs Wi-Fi and an app for its AI features.

Ages
6 to 12 per KEYi; Amazon AU listing says 24 months and up
AI
ChatGPT-style chat (GPT-4o per the listing), voice, face and gesture recognition
Camera
720p, plus 3D time-of-flight sensor
Play
Fetch, hide-and-seek, dancing; Blockly coding in the app
Battery
About 2 hours of play (KEYi), returns to its dock
Amazon AU rating
3.9 stars, 734 ratings

Watch out for

  • KEYi says it isn't for toddlers (small, fragile parts), despite the listing's age range.
  • It has a camera and can be driven remotely, so set it up with a parent account and read the privacy policy.
  • Its 3.9-star rating is the lowest here; read recent reviews.

Where to buy

Amazon AU$807.98

Prices checked 29 October 2026.

Sources: Amazon AU listing · KEYi: is Loona right for your family?

How to choose a robot pet for a child

  • Start with the age on the box. Robots with small or fragile parts aren't for toddlers. KEYi says Loona isn't suitable for toddlers because of choking-risk parts, even though one Amazon AU listing says 24 months and up.
  • Decide if it should go online. Offline toys such as the Really Real Puppy and Furby can't chat with an AI or send anything to the cloud. AI robots such as Miko and Loona need Wi-Fi, an app and a parent account.
  • Check for a camera and microphone. Miko and Loona have cameras for video calls, face recognition or remote viewing. Ask where recordings go and whether you can turn the camera off.
  • Add up the subscription. Miko's best content sits behind Miko Max; Miko's US site listed it at US$99 a year or US$14.99 a month on 29 October 2026. Check the Australian price in the app before you buy.
  • Think about batteries. Battery-powered toys like Furby (4 AA, not included) cost more to run than they look. Rechargeable robots need charging habits a young child may not keep.
  • Keep the receipt. Under the Australian Consumer Law, a toy must be of acceptable quality whatever the warranty says. Buying from an Australian retailer makes that easier to enforce.

Buying for a whole family or an older relative? Our best companion robots shortlist covers robot pets and AI companions for adults, and our companion robot guide explains the specs. For a robot that keeps an eye on the family dog instead, see pet camera robots.

Considering the priciest pick? Our Loona review covers what reviewers and owners report.

Deciding between two AI robot pets? Read Loona vs Vector.

Worried about what an AI robot records? Read our companion robot privacy guide.

For a child with disability, see what the rules say in can the NDIS fund a companion robot?

How we researched this

We shortlisted robot pets and robot companions marketed for children and sold in Australia, then compared the maker's age guidance, whether each needs Wi-Fi, an app or an account, cameras and microphones, AI chat features and ongoing costs. Prices and ratings come from Amazon AU and JB Hi-Fi (checked in Chrome on 29 October 2026) and Kmart's website. We cross-checked features with makers' pages and independent reviews linked in each pick. We haven't tested these toys ourselves.

Common questions

What is the best robot pet for a young child?

For under-6s, a simple offline toy such as Little Live Pets My Really Real Puppy ($99 at Kmart, checked 29 October 2026, ages 4+). It responds to touch with 60-plus sounds and has no app, Wi-Fi or camera.

Is Loona safe for kids?

KEYi, Loona's maker, recommends it for ages 6 to 12 and says it isn't suitable for toddlers because of small parts. It has a camera and online AI chat, so set it up with a parent account and read the privacy policy.

Do robot pets for kids need Wi-Fi?

Not all. Furby and Little Live Pets work without Wi-Fi or an app. AI robots such as Miko and Loona need Wi-Fi and an app for their chat and learning features.

Does Miko need a subscription?

No, but the free tier is limited. A Gadgeteer review found most of the worthwhile content sits behind Miko Max, which Miko's US site listed at US$99 a year on 29 October 2026.

Does Furby connect to the internet?

No. The current Furby is voice-activated and responds when you say "Hey Furby" after pressing its heart gem, but it doesn't connect to the internet or an app.

Get new reviews and price drops

One email when new reviews and price drops land. No spam, unsubscribe any time.